Quick Tips for Marriage License Applicants:
Marriage license may be issued to a man and a woman under the following conditions and procedures:
County of Issuance:
If one of the parties is a resident of Georgia, the license can be issued in any county. If neither party is a resident of Georgia, the license must be issued in
the county in which the marriage ceremony is to be performed.
A marriage license is issued based upon a written application made by the applicants, verified by oath of the applicants.
When Monday- Friday 8:00 A.M.- 5:00 P.M
As of July 1, 2003, premarital blood tests are no longer required.
The applicants must designate on the application the legal surname that will be used after the marriage. An applicant may choose his or
her given surname or his or her surname as changed by order of the superior court, the surname from a previous marriage, the spouse's
surname, or a combination of the spouse's surname and the applicant's given or changed surname or surname from a previous marriage.
The parties must be of sound mind, must have no living spouse from an undissolved prior marriage, and must not be related in a degree
prohibited by law. If the parties are at least 18 years of age, they may apply without parental consent. If either or both parties are less than
18 years of age, but at least 16 years of age, the parties may apply only with parental consent of the underage party or parties. There is an exception to the requirement of parental consent for an underage applicant if the female is pregnant or both applicants are the parents of a living child born out of wedlock, in which case the parties may apply for a license even if one or both are under age 16. Persons related by blood or marriage, falling within the following relationships may not be married in Georgia: (1) father and daughter or stepdaughter, (2) mother and son or stepson, (3) brother and sister of the whole blood or half blood, (4) grandparent and grandchild, (5) aunt and nephew, and (6) uncle and niece.
Marriage License without Counseling $76.00
Marriage License with Counseling $36.00
Additional Certified Copies $5.00
If you have any questions, please call the Probate Court at (706) 359-5528.